Details
Date: 6 May 2021, 8pm (Singapore) on Zoom Webinar
4.30pm (Tehran) / 2pm (Berlin) / 11am (Cape Verde) / 8am (New York)
This event has concluded. 

PerForm began with the inaugural digital lecture by artist Shubigi Rao on 6 May 2021. The lecture focused on three main areas of Shubigi’s practice – as a writer, an artist, and as an artist-curator for the 5th edition of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2021, and the overlaps and tensions between them.

Shubigi discussed the connections between on-site artistic production and her work as artist-curator, as well as the ways in which artistic strategies inform curatorial research. Drawing from her curatorial experiences in a pandemic-affected world, she will also examine the position of artist-curator within a potentially fraught biennale-model, and the forms of knowledge generation that could potentially be sustained through such curatorial research and practice.

Hosted by Dr. Ong Keng Sen, admission for this digital lecture is free upon registration.

Artist and writer Shubigi Rao’s interests include archival systems, histories, lies and ecologies. Her works examine displacement of people, cultures, or knowledge bodies. Her current project on book destruction and knowledge, “Pulp: A Short Biography of the Banished Book” has garnered numerous awards from AIGA, APB Foundation, D&AD, and the Singapore Literature Prize. Shubigi has also been featured in various international exhibitions and is currently the Curator for the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2021.

Please confirm below to redeem this title with your T:>Digital Credits