Ho Rui An

Details
25 November, 8pm (Singapore) on Zoom webinar
11pm (Sydney) / 3.30pm (Tehran) / 1pm (Berlin) / 11am (Cape Verde) / 7am (New York)
Registration has closed.

After a successful inaugural keynote in May 2021 by PerForm fellow Shubigi Rao, T:>Works PerForm returned with a second fellow, artist and writer Ho Rui An. He delivered a two-part programme that began with the digital keynote, From Crisis to Value*. The keynote drew from his in-situ research in multiple Asian countries investigating the effects of globalism on Asian financial capitals. Following the keynote was his video installation, Asia the Unmiraculous, which opened in artspace 72-13, Singapore.

In the digital keynote From Crisis to Value*, Ho discussed his recent and ongoing bodies of work exploring the material networks and geopolitical imaginaries that have animated the regions of East and Southeast Asia. He guided us through his research trajectory that began with his investigation of the so-called Asian financial crisis of the late nineties, to the political economy of post-reform China, and is now focused on the impact of the pandemic and the new socioeconomic realities it presents us with. Spanning the mediums of performance, film, and installation, the works produced from this research have variously examined the relationship between race and financial capitalism, the student as a figure of capitalist modernity and radical culture, the displacement of class politics by a discourse of anti-corruption amidst the systemic crises of late capitalism, and, most recently, the textile industry and its many afterlives within the Greater China region.

Ho Rui An is an artist and writer working in the intersections of contemporary art, cinema, performance, and theory. Working primarily across the mediums of lecture, essay and film, he probes the ways images are produced, circulate, and disappear within contexts of globalism and governance. He has presented projects at the Bangkok Art Biennale; Asian Art Biennale Bangladesh; Gwangju Biennale; Jakarta Biennale; Sharjah Biennale; Kochi Muziris Biennale; Kunsthalle Wien; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Van Abbemuseum, Eindhiven; NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore; and Para Site, Hong Kong. In 2019, he was awarded the International Film Critics’ (FIPRESCI) Prize at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, Germany. In 2018, he was a fellow of the DAAD Artists in Berlin Program.

Please confirm below to redeem this title with your T:>Digital Credits